Every trophy the Seattle Sounders have won in their history

One of Seattle's most unexpected triumphs, the 2022 CONCACAF Champions League
One of Seattle's most unexpected triumphs, the 2022 CONCACAF Champions League / JASON REDMOND/GettyImages
1 of 4

The Seattle Sounders have been one of the most successful teams in North American soccer since they started play in 2009, with an astonishing record of never having missed the MLS playoffs in their history.

A number of attacking stars have played for the Sounders over the years, including the club's all-time top scorer Fredy Montero, Eddie Johnson, Obafemi Martins and Clint Dempsey – but some of the club's best ever players have come on the defensive end, including Chad Marshall and long-time star Stefan Frei.

Some of those big names have come up huge in important spots over the years, including in a truly impressive number of finals. These are all the trophies the Sounders have won, and how they came about...

The Seattle Sounders have won eight major trophies in their history

1. The 2009 US Open Cup

Winning a major trophy in your first year as a club? Yeah, that's pretty good.

The squad for the Sounders' 2009 US Open Cup win is a great encapsulation of MLS at the time – with USA legend Kasey Keller captaining the team from in goal, Arsenal and Sweden legend Freddie Ljungberg beginning to wind down his career, but future club legends Osvaldo Alonso and Fredy Montero just starting their American careers.

It was Montero who scored the opening goal in a 2-1 win over reigning champions DC United in the final, with Roger Levesque firing home a second before Clyde Simms' late consolation goal.

Montero's most telling contribution may not even have been the goal, in itself. DC United goalkeeper Josh Wicks stamped on his leg in the aftermath of the goal, getting a red card for his trouble and leaving the Sounders playing against just 10 men for the last 20+ minutes.